For Immediate Release

With the official completion of the 2016/2017 Carolinas Geographic Rugby Union XVs season, focus now turns to the upcoming Summer 7s season. The CGRU has revamped their Summer 7s qualifying process and created a full 7s Qualifying Series that includes five tournaments over the course of the Summer.

The Carolina 7s Series is part of the pathway to the USA Rugby Club 7s National Championships and any team in the Carolinas, with plans to push for Nationals, will need to battle through the series to qualify. At the culmination of the Series, the Carolinas will crown two champions (one men’s and one women’s) with both squads moving on to play at the South 7s Championship.

“A more defined 7s qualifying process was something that our clubs wanted and we think this is going to be a great first step,” said CGRU President Simone Bontly. “There are so many great tournaments in the Carolinas each summer. It was important that we use those resources to launch our 7s series as opposed to creating new stand alone qualifying events. We think that we have the start of something special.”

Teams participating in the Qualifier brackets will each be awarded points based on their finish at each tournament. The teams with the most cumulative points at the end of the Series will be awarded the Carolinas 7s Series Championship and the CGRU bid to the South 7s.

Points System

1st Place Finish: 15 points

2nd Place: 12 points

3rd Place: 10 points

4th Place: 8 points

5th Place: 6 points

6th Place: 4 points

7th Place: 2 points

8th Place: 1 point

All of the teams/clubs that participate in the Qualifier Divisions at each tournament must be members, in good standing, of the Carolinas Geographic Rugby Union and all participating players must be registered with their respective clubs. The CGRU will have a representative, on site, at each event to check rosters for eligibility and record/report results.

After a tournament application process the CGRU has selected five tournaments to serve as the Qualifying events for the series. The Carolinas 7s Series has selected a strong cross-section of tournaments and locations for the 2017 series that spread across the Carolinas. The group also represents established tournaments, like the Memorial Day 7s in Charleston, and new events like the NAV 7s in Southern Pines.

2017 Carolinas 7s Series Events

Wenchfest 7s (Women’s Qualifier); May 27th; Charleston, South Carolina; Hosted by the Charleston Hurricanes

Charleston Memorial Day 7s (Men’s Qualifier); May 27th; Charleston, South Carolina; Hosted by the Charleston RFC

Queen City 7s (Men and Women); June 17th; Charlotte, North Carolina; Hosted by the NCYRU

National Athletic Village 7s (Men and Women); July 8th; Southern Pines, North Carolina; Hosted by Southern Pines RFC

CottonTown 7s (Men and Women); July 15th; Clayton, North Carolina; Hosted by the Clayton RFC

To register for a Carolinas 7s Series event, please contact the host clubs for the tournament.

For further details on the qualifying process, please see the Carolinas 7s Qualifying section of the CGRU website.